Random Summer League Thoughts Pt. 1

By: Scott Levine

After watching Summer League I have opinions. Instead of carefully weaving them together, I am going to present them in a slapdash unorganized manner to best simulate Summer League style of play.

I am tired of Summer League. I have deduced what I can about the rookies and sophomores of interest. The charm of fondly remembering that certain fringe NBA players exist has pretty much worn off. I am left with a reality of bad basketball.

Watching Lonzo Ball has helped me get over this hump. He has been up and down, but showed off all the ups against the Sixers. Lonzo finished with 36 and 11 and showed he has potential to eventually run pick and rolls. Zubac will become a starting caliber center largely because of Lonzo Ball. That’s my bold prediction for this article. You can stop reading now if you want.

Lonzo scored mostly on straight line drives in transition. His unique vision gives him unique looks: Defenders anticipated the crazy pass and didn’t stop the layup. He took those easy shots and attempted 12 free throws.

I remain low-ish on Josh Jackson. I see his ability to create his own shot in Summer League as more of an indictment of Summer League than a credit to Jackson. I remain high-ish on confirmation bias.

I have been able to deduce nothing from Jayson Tatum’s post fadeaway party. It’s clear that he is using Summer League exclusively to test the limits of the fadeaway shot many thought he’d have trouble making in the NBA. So far he has had success, but it would be nice to see him make one against not Jake Layman.

Here is a list of second round guys whom I’ve been impressed by:

Jonah Bolden, Semi Ojeleye, Davon Reed

Here is a list of second round guys whom I’ve heard have been pretty good:

Jordan Bell, Dwayne Bacon

There you go. Turns out players can be good even though they’re picked in the second round.

Bam Adebayo is the last fucking straw for me and John Cailipari. He’s nailing face up jumpers and diming guys up. But no, you had to teach him how to score in the post. That’s what worked for Karl-Anthony Towns, the most versatile center in the league.

This entry was posted in Scott Levine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

